All In

You never see a sheep leading a shepherd.  If a shepherd is running after a sheep, it’s because it’s a rescue mission.

So I got the phone call.  I’m in.  In two months my life is going to change.  Or at least my surroundings are.  I truly believe that over the course of my life God has been leading me on a heavenward path.  We are just crossing a bridge into another territory… literally.

When I first received the news I was overjoyed!  I rejoiced, I sang, I messaged my friends!  It was great!  But a few days later the reality of it all hit me like a semi-truck and fear and anxiety got the better of me.  “What have I gotten myself into and is it too late to back down?” were thoughts that were rendering me immobile.  I was no longer trusting in my Shepherd.  I was wandering off the path and stumbling in the ditch.  But there in the darkness I saw it.  My desperate need for Jesus.  Suddenly nothing else mattered.  I just wanted Jesus.

How foolish I was to doubt the character, the faithfulness, and the power of my God.  But how gracious and merciful my God is to use my stumbling to draw me closer to Him and to sanctify me.  If I believe that God is everything that He says He is, and that He will do everything thing He says He will, then what have I to fear?

When I think about who my God is and what He has done for me, the decision to be “all in” seems so much easier and desirable.  That’s what I want – to be all in.  No holding back.  No looking back.  Jesus is my one desire.  To follow Him, wow, what a blessing!

God knows the way.  No matter how scary or impossible it seems, He knows the way and He knows my needs.  I have no need to fear.  God is in control.  I just need to trust and obey.

 

Psalm 23:4 [ESV]

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.”

Matthew 6:33 [ESV]

“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Philippians 4:19 [ESV]

“And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

Leave a comment